Peace – Prayer – Joy – Love


On June 5, 1852, in a one-room school in Green’s Village, eleven men and women gathered to consider organizing a Congregational Church. Denominational diversity could describe those early founders. Exactly how Congregationalism won the day is unclear because seven of the original eleven were Presbyterian, while the other four were Congregationalists.

_DSC9774From that eclectic gathering on a summer’s day, the First Congregational Church of Greenville began its ministry of Christian service to this now bustling western Michigan community. 

God has always found a way to provide the remarkable intersection of time, place, and personalities to build the Church of Jesus Christ. The right people at the right time gathered on that summer day in 1852 to birth a reality from the embryo of hope. The faith, vision, and perseverance of those few have shaped the lives of countless thousands over more than a century and a half.


Congregational Churches are sometimes known as the “Church of the Pilgrims” after the small congregations of the early 1600’s.  The people of these congregations moved from England to the new world in pursuit of religious freedom.  From them, we inherited a wonderful spiritual heritage, one that is uniquely suited to our contemporary world.This is a tradition that has deep convictions based upon the Word of God as each person interprets that Word according to the dictates of conscience, under the enlightenment of the Holy Spirit.  This naturally attracts men and women of genuine conviction, of adventurous faith, and of gracious regard for each other’s sincerity to the Congregational Christian fellowship.Since every Congregationalist possesses full liberty of conscience in interpreting the Gospel, we are a diverse group of people united under Christ.  We believe there is strength in diversity and by it, there are unending opportunities to learn from each other and to grow in faith.

The Art and Practice of the Congregational Way

For a fuller introduction to Congregationalism, you may read or download The Art and Practice of the Congregational Way.  Geared to introduce church members to Congregationalism, it is especially suitable for new member and confirmation classes, as well as church leaders.

Church Sign 2018

Our Pastors Who Have Served Us Well

Jason Dillingham                             2017-2020
Ian W. Macdonald                             2014-2016
Mike Haefner Associate Pastor                2008-2013
Jerry Jones                                  1996-2014
Mary Ann Sheldon Associate Pastor            1992-1993
Charlie Hall                                 1984-1994
William Donald, Interim                      1982-1983
Kermit W. Dancy                              1976-1982
Henry C. Schadeberg                          1971-1976
W.D. (Bill) Wood Retired, interim            1971
James P. Sherman                             1967-1971
Associate Pastor Earl F. Collins             1961-1969
Richard L. Ford                              1954-1966
St. Clare Parsons                            1911-1953
James F. Halliday                            1906-1911
Anson B. Curtis                              1900-1906
Frank W. Hodgon                              1897-1899
Albert Marion Hyde                           1894-1897
Jay N. Taft                                  1890-1893
James L. Patten                              1866-1890
Charles Spooner                              1854-1865
Stephen N. Manning                  prior to 1852-1854


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *